Skip to main content

Forums

/Forums
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Shaddow101
New Contributor

When friends don’t understand

So I wanted to be able to find a group of people that understand what it is like to live with someone that has a mental health condition and the ongoing impact that it has on your own mental health. Over the past few months I have felt judged by some of my so called friends as they do not understand what it is like to live in survival mode on a day to day basis. 
What makes it even more difficult is that I do this for a living. All the knowledge in the world does you no good when you are dealing with someone you love. 
My daughter has struggled with mental health for as long as I can remember. She is currently 18. She has been assaulted when drunk at a party when she was 13 she has been hospitalised twice. She engages in risky behaviours and experiments with drugs. She makes unhealthy attachments to inappropriate males. She has been in emotionally abusive relationships. She became a school refuser in year 9 and. Then never really returned to school after COVID. Her default when challenged is hostility and cruelty. And to be honest I am emotionally and physically afraid of her. 
After working with my clinical supervisor she meets all criteria for BPD but has consistently refused mental health interventions. 
On top of this my husband is an alcoholic and has also been refusing treatment. 
I have a number of supportive friends who have experienced trauma and my colleagues understand. Unfortunately there are a number of friends in my group who are extremely judgemental about how I try to “survive/parent” my child.