Skip to main content

Forums

/Forums
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Raksha2005
New Contributor

New/yet not so new

TW: Abuse, Suicide Attempt

As much as I would like to say that I am new to all of this, I really do not think that I am. I was diagnosed with bipolar almost 3 years ago and since the diagnosis was really starting to get a grip on life.

Content/trigger warning
Last year I hit a bump in the road when i was assaulted which sent me back again, Then 9months later my 14yr old daughter's mental health went down hill. Attempted suicide, self harm, admissions to the psych ward, this year she has even tried to strangle me. 

I am no longer allowed to go to work as she refuses to go to school and has been so erratic in her behaviours, I am so lost. My children are my life and yet right now. I just do not know how much more I have in me to give. I am trying so hard to continue to engage. I will make a cup of tea/coffee and just sit by her door and continue to tell her that I am here. She will come out of her room and have pleasant discussions then someone says something and its all over and she is hammering us. Today I felt so guilty and scared going out (family picnic with my other children) because she refused to go. How do people get through this? If I am on my own she is like a tap one minute warm the next minute stone cold, to the point that I am scared. 

Scared of what? I am so tired and scared of her hurting herself, her hurting me or my husband, my other children getting hurt, me failing and/or doing the wrong thing. I feel like I have no support and advice on this situation. I love my daughter and my family so much, but I am not sure how much longer I have got left in me.